Network

Its about the ups and downs of a TV network and a crazy anchorman. This is a very good movie, filled with powerful speeches and fantastic uses of lighting. If there are any film students reading this, I’d write this one down if you think you’ll have to do a paper on lighting in movies, this would be a great example/movie to analyze.

  • Strong, powerful, passionate lead female role. The woman is the perfect example of female workaholics. I loved that she could only really understand real life through television speak. Her love interest [which is so wrong but I’ll get to that later] has to explain their romantic situation through storylines, acts and episodes.
  • The romance. Its just… so forced and out of the blue and just crap. Its like they shot it all then were like “crap, we need something for the women… lets just stick them two together, yeah, that’ll work”. Well it didn’t! Its painful and crap.
  • The lighting is fantastic. Its almost like its showing how TV intertwines with their real lives, they have spotlights. Its weird to explain and I’m sure if I were still in film class I’d be able to explain it better but it is really good.
  • “I’m as mad as hell and I’m not going to take it anymore!”
  • This film is filled with fantastic, energetic speeches. Normally, when you think of speeches you think that it’ll be boring but the acting and liveliness makes it so fascinating. Also, the topics of the speeches and the actual words do seem a bit like hippy speech [if you know what I mean] but because of the way they’re shouted takes away the hippiness. Sorry, that’s a crap explanation but I’m not sure how else to put it lol.
  • I thought that it was very interesting and oddly good that the fact that the anchorman is insane is actually a ‘B’ story rather than an ‘A’ story. Its was just a little plot in the background. I don’t know why I liked that but I did.
  • I could tell every now and then that Peter Finch [CRAZY!anchorman] is British because you can hear it in some of his words.
  • The ending! OMG! I should of seen it coming- well, I did but I didn’t expect it to happen so fast and so vividly!!!
  • 126/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/05/07/network/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    One CommentLeave a comment

    1. For some reason I always get ‘Network’ confused with “the China S”( a reporter at a nuclear power plant)
      http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0078966/

      Maybe I get them mixed up, because they both have a female reporter by two similar looking actresses, faye dunaway and jane fonda.

      I’m looking forward to ‘The social network’ (out October 2010 in cinema’s in the US), It’s about the founders of facebook, and directed by David Fincher:
      http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1285016/


    Leave a comment