Fight Club

I’ve been dreading reviewing this because I knew it was going to end up being a long review that I’m just too tired to write. This is because it is such a freaking awesome movie. The beautiful cinematography, mind-boggling editing, the acting, the storyline and the characters are all perfect in the sense of great movie making. Obviously, the storyline and characters are due to the book [which I shall put on my reading list] but… I don’t know, its just amazing. This film is kind of like Marmite, you either love it or you hate it. I love it. My brother loves it. I remember he saw it for the first time when me, him, our mum and uncles were on holiday in Wales and my uncles had brought their portable DVD player and some DVDs and he just watched Fight Club on repeat for the whole week. Yes, he enjoys it because of the fighting and he loves Brad Pitt but I think, unbeknownst to him, that its more than that.

This movie is a little like Donnie Darko in the sense that you have to watch it a few times to understand it or even have a grasp at understanding it. The first time you watch it, you’re shocked and confused by the ending. The next time you watch it, knowing the ending, and realizing how brilliant it all is. Next time you really think about the morals of the movie. Then the next time you realise there are even more themes. You discover something new every time you watch it and I doubt you can say that about any other movie [except Donnie Darko].

I’m not going to really talk about the technical side of this movie because not only will it bore you but I actually can’t put it into words. Its just so amazing and inspiring and fresh. Its unlike anything I’ve ever seen before. The editing and the cinematography are characters of their own. I… I honestly can’t say anything, I just don’t know what to say so I’ll end it at that. Its just spectacular.

Actually… to talk about the storyline and characters would really turn into a book review. If you are going to watch this movie for the first time then I’d recommend you don’t look anything up about it, I’d stop reading this and just watch the movie. Don’t find out about the twist at the end or it will all be ruined. Actually, not, that’s a total lie because I know the twist and have seen this movie another 5 or so times and I’m still discovering stuff. But its nice the first time you watch it and you don’t know what’s going to happen. I kind of miss that ignorance.

Ok, I lied, I’m going to say a few little things about the editing and cinematography but I’ll try to keep them short; look out for Pitt as he is everywhere. The narration is throughout and it works perfectly, its really needed. I like it when the narrator talks about being a consumist and we see his apartment come together like an Ikea catalogue with everything priced [I, personally, love being a consumist, I like buying pretty and funny things]. There is a brilliant moment when they’re talking about Pitt’s character’s past and his previous jobs, its shot like a documentary and our narrator [Edward Norton, and the narrator doesn‘t have a name] is our host and reacts to Tyler [Pitt] who is… its like the narrator has gone back in time and stuff… its hard to explain but its one of my favourite parts. If you don’t like the fighting and look away, there is no point looking away during the Jared-Leto-gets-beaten-to-a-bloody-pulp scene as it is worse to hear it than it is to see it. Sorry, I’m done now, shutting up.

I’ll do a few little comments about the storyline and characters even if they’re not really due to the movie because it’s a book. Anyways. Who knew you could make bombs out of soap! And who knew that soap was human fat! The 1st rule of Fight Club is don’t talk about Fight Club. The 2nd rule of Fight Club is don’t talk about Fight Club. The scene where the narrator beats himself up in his boss’s office to make it look like his boss beat him up is hilariously sad. Priests like to fight. I love the homeworks that Tyler sets people and one of them being feed a bunch of pigeons on the top of a big car shop and have them poo all over the new, expensive cars. Its amazing how subtly Tyler raises an army [In Tyler We Trust].

This movie will make you think about life. Tyler’s ‘motto’ or way of life is that once you have nothing to loose, then you can start living life. It’s the whole ‘best things in life are free’ stuff. I agree with that and all, I mean the best things in life are friends and family but bought things don’t hurt. The thought that we need nothing is stupid. Its good to buy things. Its good to own a piggybank in the shape of a cupcake. Its good to spend money on a poster to hang on your wall. Its good to spend a little extra on something you will love forever, like a stuffed toy or a piece of jewelry. I’d say that having nothing almost restrains you more than having something. [/end of philosophical crap here]

I haven’t done this in a few reviews so I’ll finish this one off with the best speech of the movie and the funniest line of the movie, all delivered brilliantly by Brad Pitt.

“Hi. You’re going to call off your rigorous investigation. You’re going to publicly state that there is no underground group. Or… these guys are going to take your balls. They’re going to send one to the New York Times, one to the LA Times press-release style. Look, the people you are after are the people you depend on. We cook your meals, we haul your trash, we connect your calls, we drive your ambulances. We guard you while you sleep. Do not… fuck with us.”

“WHOA! WHOA! WHOA! Ok, you are now firing a gun at your ‘imaginary friend’ near 400 GALLONS OF NITROGLYCERINE!”

205/212

Kate
Xoxo

My 4th film today. 3 tomorrow then 4 Saturday. I think I might actually complete my challenge. I shall celebrate by eating popcorn all day Saturday.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/fight-club/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

