Casablanca

Its alright. Takes a bit of getting into but it’s a hell of a lot better than Chinatown which is a similar style to this movie. Once again, I think I’m a bit too young and naive about World War II to fully enjoy and appreciate it. I’m just going to go straight into the notes as I can’t think of anything else for this ‘opening paragraph’ haha!

• Accents in the first 20 minutes are so strong that it makes most of the dialogue inaudible which wasn’t the best 1st impression.
• There was a moment of cinematography that I really loved; when Rich goes to his safe, he goes off screen but he reappears via shadow and we see when he’s doing off-screen. It’s just so clever and perfect noir!
• One of the things I love about old black and white movies, I’ve said this before, are the fact that they use a technique which gives the women in these movies a gorgeous glow; it’s the most flattering technique in cinema. It shows that women are more beautiful the men, no offence men.
• The lighting in this movie really stood out for me; if there was a scene with less than 3 people, everyone was lit from the shoulders up, the rest was in shadow. It’s so wonderful because it not only reminds us that this is a movie and therefore an escape from reality, but it also shows the audience that they are to focus on the character’s and there facial features. Also, thanks to the lighting and general cinematography, you could take a still [photo] of every frame of this movie and it would look like a proper photograph, do you know what I mean? Like, it wouldn’t look like it was from a movie; it would look like a posed photograph. It’s so beautiful!
• The love between the two main characters has me confused. There are moments when I think the woman, Ilsa, is trying to seduce Rich for the travel papers so her and her husband can fly away and escape to America but then I feel they truly love each other. In my opinion, it was either poorly written or poorly acted by Ingrid Bergman. Actually, no, because Bergman is a great actress so I think it may be bad directing. I don’t know, maybe I just got confused or misheard something, I don’t know, but I had to ask my mum if Ilsa actually loves him or not. Obviously, at the end, its obvious that she does but can you see what I mean?
• Anyways, I did love the character of Rich. He’s a miserable, lonely, grumpy man who’s only happy when he’s with Ilsa. I think that makes her incredibly special because its obvious that this man is deeply inlove with her; nothing says true love like a selfish man being unselfish for a woman. I’m sorry, my wording is probably not very good… I seem to be thinking things that are hard to explain. Sorry if I’m making no sense at all.
• I loved the scene of French National Anthem VS Hitler’s Song. Such a powerful scene and shows even more ‘war’ than actual war. GRRRRRR! What is it with me and not being able to explain myself today!! I blame Laura, she’s made me all excited and muddled my brain up lol [she’s flown over from England to be with me for 10 days, and for Orlando too, I suppose lol]. I guess I’m trying to say that the song scene is more powerful than bullets and bombs.
• No plane would take off in that much fog!!!!!

I’d like to end, as always, with quotes as this movie is incredibly well known for its quotes, some of which you wouldn’t know actually originated from this film. Or it could just be more of my naivety!
“Here’s looking at you kid.”

“Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine.”

“Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.”

Rick: “How can you close me up? On what grounds?” Captain Renault: “I’m shocked, shocked to find that gambling is going on here!” Croupier: “Your winnings, sir.” Captain Renault: “Oh, thank you very much.”

192/212 – 20 to go!!!
Kate
xoxo

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/07/11/casablanca/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

