Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope

Wow, I thought I’d seen all the Star Wars but it looks like I forgot the main one >.< I’ll be honest, most of my notes are identical to the ones I wrote for the Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi. So I’d go back and read that and then come back here for the news ones;

  • I have to keep reminding myself that this is the first of the Star Wars movies and therefore everything seen has never been seen or explained before. So the first shot being of space and then a massive spaceship flies across the screen, clearing in war with another ship, is pretty amazing. I can just imagine people going ‘woooow’! it’s a pretty awe-inspiring first shot.
  • I’m sorry, I’m sorry, but throughout this film I kept thinking of the Family Guy movie, Blue Harvest, which is a complete parody of New Hope. I kept giggling at moments I wasn’t supposed to because I kept getting reminded of Stewie as Darth Vader talking about why there should be a flaw in the design plan of the Death Star.
  • I think Princess Leia’s costume and hair is world-known. I think if someone dressed up in her costume, everyone would know it was from Star Wars.

  • Mark Hamill is a crap actor. I’m sorry but he is. Alec Guinness, however, can out-act him by simply lifting up his hood.
  • “I find your lack of faith disturbing.” This would be an awesome line if someone didn’t keep Tweeting me it on Twitter!!
  • Dad and I are constantly referring to the Jedi hand movement of “you don’t need to see our identification”. And you can’t tell me you’ve never done the Jedi hand movement when you’ve walked through automatic doors!
  • I love the bar scene, for 2 reasons; I oddly love the music that’s played by the alien band! Its so catchy! Secondly, I love that the aliens are all real and not CGI. I have said this countless times how I prefer make-up to CGI when it comes to small scale things. It just makes it more realistic and really transports you to another world. Also, well done Lucus for creating a number of different languages for these aliens, even if most of it is baby language.
  • Han Solo is still awesome.
  • I think the slogan for this movie should have been “I’ve got a bad feeling about this…”
  • So sad when Obi-Wan ‘dies’, it would have been so much nicer if he’d been alive at least until the beginning of the next movie!
  • Ewwww! She’s your sister!!! Lucus is twisted!!
  • Still an awesome film, even if its over 30 years old!

    189/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/star-wars-episode-iv-a-new-hope/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

