Dr. Strangelove Or; How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Bomb

I really loved this film! Its done so brilliantly well; the comedy is so subtle and it’s the kind that waits for the audience to laugh. Its not “look here’s a joke!”, its “and we’re talking very seriously here and did we just say that? Yes, we did just say that, lets move on.”

The plot of this movie is still relevant today with that war thing in the Middle East [I’m joking, of course, I know what’s going on there, sarcasm/irony don’t get across well on the internet and therefore gets lost because you’ve now forgotten what was sarcastic/ironic because I’ve had to explain myself.] And, to be honest, I think there’s a good chance that a USAF General would send a ‘H Bomb’ to Russia just so there can be a war and distract himself from his paranoia and sexual dysfunction.

Peter Sellers did multiple characters long before Mike Myers did in Austin Powers [I’m not dissing Austin Powers, as I love those movies, once again, I have to explain myself. Damn internet.]. Sellers plays Group Captain Lionel Mandrake [British exchange officer and a chance to poke fun at us ‘jolly good’ British], the President Merkin Muffley [the only non-dumb President of the United States I’ve seen in a comedy and therefore a hundred times funnier as its different], and Dr. Strangelove [wheelchair-bound ex-Nazi scientist]. All expertly done, I didn’t even know he was the British guy!

I love the survival kit contents for the airplane; one forty-five caliber automatic; two boxes of ammunition; four days’ concentrated emergency rations; one drug issue containing antibiotics, morphine, vitamin pills, pep pills, sleeping pills, tranquilizer pills; one miniature combination Russian phrase book and Bible; one hundred dollars in rubles; one hundred dollars in gold; nine packs of chewing gum; one issue of prophylactics; three lipsticks; three pair of nylon stockings. [“Shoot, a fella’ could have a pretty good weekend in Vegas with all that stuff.”]

I love the conversations between the President and the drunk President of Russia! Pure genius! I can’t really think of anything else to say about it other than it’s a great comedic scene.

“Peace is our Profession.” See! Americans can get irony when they want to! Though I bet there were some people who were like “but they’re all shooting gun, that’s just silly.”

One of the bombs has “hi there” written on it! LMAO! Loves it!! The other one should have been “guess what!” Then you have the classic scene of the pilot wearing a cowboy-style hat, riding the bomb as its dropped. I thought this was the film that scene came from within the first 5 minutes of the film, I just knew somehow it was! That is a classic shot that I’ve seen parodied numerous times, probably most famously by The Simpsons. I’ve said this a few times, if the audience recognizes a scene, a line or a character, even though they’ve never seen the film, is the best sign that you’ve made a fantastic movie.

Obviously, there’s the whole “it was made during the Cold War” and its all political and stuff but I hate politics so I don’t give a damn. It made me laugh.

Now I think its only fitting to end this review on some brilliant quotes;

[Talking about the General who told the airplanes to bomb Russia]
General “Buck” Turgidson: Uh, we’re, still trying to figure out the meaning of that last phrase, sir.
President Merkin Muffley: There’s nothing to figure out, General Turgidson. This man is obviously a psychotic.
General “Buck” Turgidson: We-he-ell, uh, I’d like to hold off judgment on a thing like that, sir, until all the facts are in.

President Merkin Muffley: Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the War Room.

[after learning of Russia’s Doomsday Machine]
Ambassador de Sadesky: …The deciding factor was when we learned that your country was working along similar lines, and we were afraid of a doomsday gap.
President Merkin Muffley: This is preposterous. I’ve never approved of anything like that.
Ambassador de Sadesky: Our source was the New York Times.

[After Group Capt. Lionel Mandrake tells Colonel “Bat” Guano to shoot to Coca-Cola machine to get change to call the President.]
Colonel “Bat” Guano: Okay. I’m gonna get your money for ya. But if you don’t get the President of the United States on that phone, you know what’s gonna happen to you?
Group Capt. Lionel Mandrake: What?
Colonel “Bat” Guano: You’re gonna have to answer to the Coca-Cola company.

General “Buck” Turgidson: Sir, you can’t let him in here. He’ll see everything. He’ll see the big board!

Group Capt. Lionel Mandrake: [about being a Japanese prisoner of war] Ah, oh, no… well, I don’t think they wanted me to talk really. I don’t think they wanted me to say anything. It was just their way of having a bit of fun, the swines. Strange thing is they make such bloody good cameras.

Dr. Strangelove: Of course, the whole point of a Doomsday Machine is lost, if you *keep* it a *secret*! Why didn’t you tell the world, EH?
Ambassador de Sadesky: It was to be announced at the Party Congress on Monday.

186/212

Kate
Xoxo

PS: I’m addicted to pistachios. Ooops.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/07/06/dr-strangelove-or-how-i-learned-to-stop-worrying-and-love-the-bomb/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

