The Big Lebowski

Its very good, very funny and totally random. For us young-uns, its kind of like Pineapple Express but with slightly less weed. I’d only just heard about this film recently because the guy from the show Cake Boss mentioned that this was his favourite film ever and that he keeps quoting it [to the point where there is a counter in the corner of the screen of how many times he quotes the movie]. It’s a shame that I hadn’t seen it sooner.

Dude gets mistaken for another Lebowski and stuff goes on from there. Most of my notes are quotes, which is what this movie is famous for, so I’ll try to get a few little lines in about the film then just leave the rest to quotes because that’s all the fans of this movie care about!

  • This film made me want to go bowling. However, I did laugh at all the people that take bowling seriously. Our main 3 characters do love bowling but they haven’t gone as far as having their own matching outfits and gloves. Those are the people that need to be whacked round the head with a bowling ball. And they’re normally always fat! This is the only ‘sport’ they can play.
  • I love Dude’s hair. Love it. I want my hair to look like that, the way its curly at the ends and stuff.
  • Julianne Moore shocked me with her surprisingly good British accent! And she was a pretty cool character too.
  • I love that Dude and Walter talk like 20-somethings but they look [so badly] like middle-aged men.
  • I kept cracking up at Dude’s high-pitched girly screams and his plastic jelly sandals! I had a pair like that when I was young! They were pink! I lost one in the ocean.
  • Professor Lupin is in it! And he’s a Scouser! And, to my American viewers, a Scouser is someone from Liverpool.
  • I think the Coen Brothers [the directors and writers] wanted to make sure we knew Dude was a bit of an average-guy-loser by having him driving whilst drinking and smoking a joint.
  • I warn you, you’re not gonna get much out of this movie. The ending is a bit ‘wait- what? That’s it?’ and there is nothing that deep about it and its just for fun. And it will probably make you very protective over your rug.
  • Now for quotes, and I warn you, there is a lot of swearing:

    Maude Lebowski: What do you do for recreation?
    The Dude: Oh, the usual. I bowl. Drive around. The occasional acid flashback.

    Walter Sobchak: This is what happens when you fuck a stranger in the ass!

    Blond Treehorn Thug: [holding up a bowling ball] What the fuck is this?
    The Dude: Obviously you’re not a golfer.

    Walter Sobchak: …Also, Dude, chinaman is not the preferred nomenclature. Asian-American, please.

    The Dude: [repeated line by The Dude and others] That rug really tied the room together.

    Walter Sobchak: OVER THE LINE!
    Smokey: Huh?
    Walter Sobchak: I’m sorry, Smokey. You were over the line, that’s a foul.
    Smokey: Bullshit. Mark it 8, Dude.
    Walter Sobchak: Uh, excuse me. Mark it zero. Next frame.
    Smokey: Bullshit, Walter. Mark it 8, Dude.
    Walter Sobchak: Smokey, this is not ‘Nam. This is bowling. There are rules.

    The Dude: [on the phone] Of course the car made it home, you’re calling me at home. No, Walter, it did NOT look like Larry was about to crack!

    Jackie Treehorn: Refill?
    The Dude: Does the Pope shit in the woods?

    Fuck it, man, lets go bowling.

    171/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/06/21/the-big-lebowski/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

