The Usual Suspects

This is a movie I’ve wanted to see for a while. I just remember always seeing it quoted or seen the poster [which I suppose is quite iconic.] I’ve managed to stay ignorant to the movie before I saw it which I think really works with this film; its best if you don’t know the ending. However, I guess if you watch it again, you discover things that you missed and you can enjoy going “ahh, of course, I see it now!”

The plot is very clever and I can see why it won Best Screenplay at the Oscars. Basically, its about these 5 criminals who decide to join forces and do a little robbing. And then stuff happens.

  • I love the opening music, its so beautiful.
  • There is a line of fire but its stopped by some very well-aimed peeing. Its almost impressive.
  • “Hand me the keys you f****ing c***sucker.” I think this is a bit of an iconic line. And I just love how the characters laugh and take the piss as they read out the line.
  • This is the first and only movie I’ve watched with Stephen Baldwin and its such a shame that’s he’s gone all mental Christian on us. He wasn’t that bad of an actor! I think the first time I saw him was on I’m A Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here and he baptized Spencer Prat. Not the best first impression, I can tell you, lol. Also, thanks to South Park, I know about restorestephenbaldwin.org Yes. Its an actual website and its not taking the piss. Its real. Take a look, it’ll give you a laugh. So, unfortunately, I kept thinking of the reality TV show and the website and just shaking my head. And laughing hysterically when he got a lit cigarette in the face.
  • I’m confused about this Fred Fenster [Benicio del Toro, or as I like to call him OLD!Brad Pitt] and his speech. He sounds a little deaf but you know he’s not. His voice just confuses me, so much. Does he have a speech impediment? Is English not his native tongue? What?!?
  • The beginning I found a little confusing as it seemed to intertwine two stories and I found myself a little confused about what was going on, what was present, future, past or what. Obviously, as the movie went on I started to get to grips with it but its not a good start when the plots confuse you as it almost nearly put me off the whole film.
  • The script, in my opinion, is so clever and so well written. I found myself going “OMG they’re all linked!! OMG they killed the son!! OMG he killed everyone! No! Not OLD!Brad Pitt!! So its bad guys killing badder guys! Aw! He got shot! He looks so gutted about it! OMG its him! NO WAY! Ah, that’s so damn clever!” If none of that made sense to you, sorry, I’m on medication so a bit woooo.
  • There are some shots are the beginning of the boat and the scenery which look like artistic shots or to give room for the audience’s imagination of what’s going on. However, they’re shown again at the end and its given a whole new different meaning. Its just so clever!
  • Sorry… bit of a crap review but it is a good movie. I suppose the ending is predictable to the point where you don’t see it coming, does that make any sense? Its good, go watch it.

    I’d like to end with my favourite line from this movie that I don’t think I’ll ever forget, and its actually a Baldwin line:

    Old McDonald had a farm ee i ee i o. And on that farm he shot some guys. Badda boom badda bing bang boom.

    162/212 – 50 films to go! Ahh!!

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/the-usual-suspects/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

