The Graduate

I can’t really see why this movie is so great… it could have been made a lot better but oh well. Its good, but I’ve seen a lot better. The plot is a graduate who has an affair with Mrs. Robinson and ends up falling in love with Mrs. Robinson’s daughter.

  • I like the way it was shot, I like the dimensions. I don’t know whether its just my computer or it was all that they could afford or something but its so long but not very high. It looks almost artistic.

  • He’s graduated and his parents have this party for him but its filled with their friends and family friends who just fuss over the poor young man. I totally felt for him then.

  • I recognized the classic shot of Mrs. Robinson’s leg and Dustin Hoffman in the background with the classic line “Mrs. Robinson, you’re trying to seduce me.” However, they used the word ‘seduce’ too often that it lost its ‘meaning’ if you know what I mean.

  • The tan lines on Mrs. Robinson’s body were funny, but also a nice change as you normally never see tan lines on women in movies. It was quite clever how they angled the camera to be over Mrs. Robinson’s shoulder so we see Hoffman, but we get very quick cuts to show areas of her naked body. That actually made it more tasteful than movies these days that would go ahead and show it all.

  • It was interesting to see another side to affairs. Most of the time in movies, the affairs are done so gracefully but in this one, at least at the beginning of the affair, Hoffman’s character hasn’t a single clue what to do which seems realistic.

  • I liked the montage of the affair, the way Hoffman walked from scene into scene, I always wonder how they manage to do that and make it seem like one continuous take.

  • Boys. Never, never, EVER take a girl on your first date to a strip club. No. That’s a very big no-no. That’s about the second biggest no-no, just behind taking her to sit in the car outside your ex’s house.

  • Mrs. Robinson is soooo freaking evil!!! I wanted to slap her!!!
  • Its an alright movie, I’ve just seen better.

    161/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/06/11/the-graduate/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

