Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid

I really liked this movie! The plot line is relatively easy to follow and its almost border lining into a comedy, rather than a typical Western. Its about these two guys that are on the run from the law, basically.

  • I’m a little confused about what the sepia tone of the beginning, middle and end scenes represent. I thought, at first, that they were the parts that they know where fact and the rest is what is rumored to of happened and that sepia was used to show it as ‘old footage’ showing that its ‘real’. However, as the movie went on, I don’t think that’s the case. I think that maybe its just to remind the audience that this is history they’re talking about. However, it does say at the beginning “Most of what follows is true.”
  • I only have one bad thing to say about the fantastic casting of Robert Redford and Paul Newman; they don’t look old enough to be ‘over-the-hill’ robbers. But aside from that, they’re brilliant together, there’s so much chemistry, they just ooze with ‘best-friend-forever-ness’. However, I am confused because they discover stuff about each other as they run from the law. I don’t know whether they’ve just met and they just happen to really get along or if the script is supposed to show us that even BFFs don’t know everything about each other.
  • The comedy is my kind of comedy. Its not laugh-out-loud funny but it makes you smile. Redford and Newman have great comic timing and style, they just bounce off one another with teasing and jokes that BFFs do say to each other. Don’t wish to go on about this but it does really make me miss my friends back in England.
  • Their relationship with the woman is weird… almost like they’re having a threesome but without the BFFs getting together; they just take it in turns to ‘be’ with her. Weird…

  • It was interesting to see the bicycle make a little appearance in a Western. It oddly works as a little sidekick to the horse.

  • The entrance of the posse that the train-man got together to kill the BFFs is pretty awesome, even if they are the ‘bad guys’ and incredibly annoying. The way they jump out of the train on their horses just looks so cool.
  • I feel they missed an opportunity for some funny banter between the BFFs when they only have one horse and they chose who rides front and who has to hold onto the other’s waist. The banter they have as they get taken down the river by the current is pretty funny [“if I drown, I’ll kill you!” “Let go of my neck!”] so I think they missed a chance there for a little laugh-out-loud moment.
  • They keep repeating “who are those guys?!” when they’re referring to the posse who are chasing them down and don’t seem to ever stop. Its quite funny because they’re clearly struggling with ideas to loose them and the ideas they do use would of worked in classic Western films but they don’t in this one! Its funny because the BFFs are almost like “What the- they’re STILL following us?! After everything we’ve done?! I- just- just leave us alone, you bastards, oooo, what do we do?! BUGGER OFF!” One of the actual lines is “I couldn’t do that. Could you do that? Why can they do it? Who are those guys?”
  • I think the reason we like the BFFs who are robbers and therefore actually bad guys is not only because they’re actually really nice but also because they don’t physically look like bad guys… they’re both blond and they both have blue eyes [Newman’s are the bluest eyes in cinema]. That’s just not an evil combination at all.
  • There’s only 1 swear word, oddly enough. Its when they jump into the lake. Its quite funny rather than rude.
  • I love that the woman, who is a teacher, teaches the BFFs Spanish phrases but they’re phrases like “put the money in the bag” and “where is the safe”. I wonder if I’ll learn them in class…
  • Hate, hate, HATE the mining-man’s spit! So gross! Hate it when they chew tobacco and spit! So gross. Blood, I can handle. But spit just gives me the heebie-jeebies! And yes, I just typed ‘heebie-jeebies‘.
  • I ruined the film and the characters for myself a little because I started to think about the banks that the BFFs rob and that that money actually belongs to people and families and now they’re not going to have money. That thought ruined the movie for me so don’t think that when you watch it. You probably will now but try not to!
  • The ending is rather iconic and copied in many mediums. The BFFs jump into action, the camera freezes but you can still hear the sounds, leaving the ending to your imagination. I remember this technique being used on Blackadder Goes Forth [which you should all watch, by the way]. it’s a great technique that leaves the audience to either imagine their death or imagine their escape. However, the fact that at the beginning it says “they’re all dead now” does give it away a bit but its good because then the last thing the audience sees of the BFFs is them alive which is a better image to go away with rather than their corpses on the ground.
  • Now I’d like to end in a way I love to end, with some funny quotes that might be funny to you or not so you‘ll have to watch the movie [^_^]:

    Butch Cassidy: No, no, not yet. Not until me and Harvey get the rules straightened out.
    Harvey Logan: Rules? In a knife fight? No rules.
    Cassidy: *kicks him in the nuts* Well, if there aint’ going to be any rules, let’s get the fight started. Someone count. 1,2,3 go.
    Sundance Kid: [quickly] 1,2,3, go.
    [Cassidy knocks Harvey out]

    Butch Cassidy: Is that what you call giving cover?
    Sundance Kid: Is that what you call running? If I knew you were going to stroll…

    Butch Cassidy: [singing] Don’t ever hit your mother with a shovel. It will leave a dull impression on her mind.

    Sundance Kid: Hey, what are you doin’?
    Butch Cassidy: Stealin’ your woman?
    Sundance Kid: [pause] Take her. Take her.
    Butch Cassidy: Well, you’re a romantic bastard, I’ll give you that.

    Butch Cassidy: How long before you figure they’re not after us?
    Sundance Kid: A while longer.
    Butch Cassidy: How come you’re so talkative?
    Sundance Kid: Naturally blabby, I guess.

    Butch Cassidy: [about the posse hunting them] Don’t they get tired? Don’t they get hungry?
    Sundance Kid: They gotta be.
    Butch Cassidy: Why don’t they slow up? Hell, they could even go faster, at least that’d be a change. They don’t even break formation. Do something!

    Sundance Kid: Which way?
    Butch Cassidy: It doesn’t matter. I don’t know where we’ve been and I’ve just been there.

    Butch Cassidy: We’re going to run out unless we can get to that mule and get some more.
    Sundance Kid: I’ll go.
    Butch Cassidy: This is no time for bravery. I’ll let ya!

    160/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/06/10/butch-cassidy-and-the-sundance-kid/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

