Lawrence of Arabia

This is a pretty legendary movie and is often considered to be the greatest movie ever. It very well made, beautiful and an interesting story, but it goes on for toooo looooong. Anyways, for those who don’t know, the film is about a ‘British warrior-poet’ called T.E. Lawrence and all about how he helped unite Arab tribes to strike against the Turks in World War I. Sounds a bit boring but it turns out to be very interesting.

  • Peter O’Toole plays Lawrence and he has an amazing voice and the bluest eyes ever. I loved at the beginning that the character was very witty but that left, sadly, quite quickly. The character doesn’t then go boring but it would have been nice to have a little witty comment here and there.
  • This movie is a perfect example of why we don’t need CGI all the time. The locations are gorgeous, something so simple as sand can look so stunning. Then there’s the use of natural light and the sun rises and the light coming through clouds and oh, its just beautiful! And its even more beautiful because you know its all natural. Also, this movie has scenes of many, many, MANY extras and, like my dad reminded me, they were all real! Not like now-a-days when you just need one man on a horse then just copy and paste him all over the shot. I think I just find it extra stunning because I think about these silly filmmaking things.
  • Tafas: [talking of Britain] “Is that a desert country?” T.E. Lawrence: “No: a fat country. Fat people.” tehehe
  • This movie has Obi-Wan in it! However, he’s incredibly tanned and playing an Arab. Bit weird but he manages to pull it off like only Alec Guinness can.
  • I love how tornadoes look. I don’t know why I find them so beautiful. There are little sand tornadoes in this movie which are just so pretty!
  • I didn’t like how the Arab people only referred to ‘Allah’ once and then ‘God’ for the rest of the movie. “Be patient with him, God.” “Be thankful that when God gave you a face…” “God help the men that lie under that.”
  • I hate that us English used to be so racist towards the Arab people. Makes me feel sick to my stomach but also proud of how far we’ve come and grown since then.
  • Lawrence confesses that he enjoyed killing a man and I think that’s a fear that everyone has; that if they kill someone they might actually enjoy it. This, I think, was the turning point of the movie because we realise the conflict isn’t just in the dessert but also in Lawrence’s mind.
  • There is no romance in this movie! I think that’s one hell of an achievement. I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve rolled my eyes in movies where they just stick a girl in just so the ‘hero’ can have a love interest. This movie proves that you don’t need a love interest to make a great and interesting movie.
  • I thought it was very interesting that this movie shows that that white people can be discriminated against too. Obviously, its nothing compared to what most races have gone through but I thought it was good to show we can be discriminated too because of our pale skin.
  • “Jolly good about the squash court.” I don’t think I’ve ever heard a more British sentence in my life!
  • “I wish I’d stayed in Tunbridge Wells.” I’m sorry, I love this line because I used to live about 45min away from Tunbridge Wells. I just love it when movies mention towns in England because its normally all about American places like LA and New York.
  • The ending was a bit crap. I thought it was good that the audience was reminded that he died via a crap motorcycle accident which was a crap way to die considering everything he’d gone through but… I don’t know, I was like “What? That’s it?” Even after 3hr 45min I felt there was more to see. I probably would have been bored but I felt there was more to tell.
  • Oh, quick note, the music is incredible.
  • I can see why its an epic movie and why so many directors, movie makers, everyone is so influence by this movie. Its visually very stunning. It is a bit long but it’s a good watch.

    157/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/06/08/lawrence-of-arabia/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

