Toy Story

I think everyone has seen this movie. Except maybe my friend Milly. Milly, if I could only recommend one movie to you, it would be this one.

  • I love that at the beginning, Andy is playing with his toys, acting out a story. Its just perfect.
  • You’ve Got A Friend In Me by Randy Newman. Such a lovely song and is the true meaning of friendship and what this movie actually is; a buddy movie. And in some cases, a bromance movie. Yes, the animation is awesome but its about these friends and their journeys. And they’re toys. Its because of this movie, I’d say, that we have films like Shrek. That would be considered a good thing if they hadn’t made Shrek 3 and 4.
  • Western VS Scifi. Old VS New. So many things could be said about the choice between a cowboy and a spaceman. As a film nut, I see it as scifi is overtaking westerns but westerns are still loved just as much as scifi.
  • What makes this movie great is the characters and the way they respond to each other. Big example is all the toys’ reaction to the new toy, Buzz. Not only is he new but he actually thinks he’s a spaceman, not a toy. I love how Woody mocks Buzz and Buzz’s reaction to ‘Earth life’.
  • The voices! Its because of this movie that every time I hear those actors, even if I see their faces, makes me think of them. Probably because I saw Toy Story before I even went to school so that’s my first memory of them.
  • The Claw! OMG here’s a little story. When me and my family went to Disneyland… about… erm… I can’t remember which time it was… I think it was… 2007 though it may have been 2002… Anyways, we went to Disneyland, we have lunch at Pizza Planet and I went on the claw machine “The Claw, it moves” and I won a little yellow alien plushie! I still have it! Good times.
  • This is one of my dad’s favourite movies and he loves the line “Sid! Your Pop Tarts are ready!”
  • ‘Not a flying toy’. I think that’s what makes this different from other family movies; one of the main characters becomes seriously depressed! Buzz finds out that he’s been living his whole life as a lie and goes into depression which makes the character all that more relatable because he’s feeling and reacting how humans would. We watched this little thing on the DVD about the legacy of Toy Story and this was one of the points they made about why it IS a legacy. Not only because it’s a real human emotion that’s not normally explored in family movies but because Buzz does it all via his eyes. He’s totally silent and you can see he’s going through the motions and trying to figure his life out. You just could not get this in an animated movie! And its amazing that something animated can show such emotion.
  • The animation is fantastic. Its still cartoon-ish but its 3D animation [and no need for glasses]. The shadowing, the attention to detail, the movement of it all is amazing, it set a whole new level of animation for everyone else to have to cope with. Obviously, not everyone watches a movie and goes “wow, the animation is amazing”, we just think its an awesome movie. But the animation does help.
  • This movie is something for the kids and something for the adults, hence why its in my dad’s top 5 favourite films. There are stuff the kids will laugh at and stuff the adults will laugh at. It has the perfect blend which is why I’ve loved this movie from when I was 4 to now at 19.
  • Now, lets have some quotes!!!

    Rex: What if Andy gets another dinosaur? A mean one? I just don’t think I can take that kind of rejection!

    Mr. Potato Head: How come *you* don’t have a laser, Woody?
    Woody: It’s not a laser. It’s…
    [sighs in frustration]
    Woody: It’s a little light bulb that blinks.
    Hamm: What’s wrong with him?
    Mr. Potato Head: Laser envy.

    Buzz: Excuse me, I think the word you’re searching for is “space ranger”.
    Woody: The word I’m searching for, I can’t say, because there’s preschool toys present.

    Slinky Dog: It’s Sid!
    Rex: I thought he was at summer camp!
    Hamm: They must’ve kicked him out early this year.

    Sergeant: [about the second present Andy opens ] It’s… it’s bedsheets!
    Mr. Potato Head: Who invited that kid?

    155/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/toy-story/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    3 CommentsLeave a comment

    1. Great review. I normally hate ‘kid’ films (every time ‘Stuart Little’ comes on TV I smash up crockery) but this one is different. I dunno exactly what the magic ingredient is but I suspect it may be the warmth and resonance of the characters. Because they seem so real they are also genuinely funny. ‘Toy Story 2’ I think is even better. Have you seen that one?

    2. I guess it is no surprise I love the mum in this film even if you never really see all of her!


    Leave a Reply

