A Man for All Seasons

This movie is about Sir Thomas More and his struggle with Henry VIII and the Roman Catholic Church. Its more interesting than it sounds!

  • Cardinal Wolsey [Orson Welles] looks a little like he’s possessed, he looks rather evil! I don’t know whether this was on purpose as the people who agree with the King getting divorced are portrayed as the bad guys but it made it seem more obvious to me.
  • Robert Shaw looks far more like Henry VIII than the modern actors who’ve portrayed him. Especially Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Seriously?! Also loved Henry’s costume! I love gooooold.
  • Paul Scofield is amazing in this film, the acting is superb and even though I’m not religious, I totally supported him.
  • “Cromwell, are you threatening me?” “My dear Norfolk… this isn’t Spain.” Tehehe.
  • More’s [Scofield] daughter is called Meg. I kept chuckling as all I could think of was Family Guy.
  • The film is basically arrogant men vs. an honorable man. Shame who wins.
  • “That’s a nice dress.” Bless, poor husband does try.
  • More’s last meal is custard tarts! Makes you wonder what you’d like your last meal to be… I think I’d eat as many brownies and shortbread as I could.
  • I know, the review is crap but it is a very good movie, a nice watch.

    149/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/a-man-for-all-seasons/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

