Sex and the City 2

I’ll admit that I was a latecomer to Sex and the City; I was 7 when it first aired. I got really into it last year when I saw a few episode on the English channel Five and kind of got hooked. I bought the film then got the DVD set for my birthday so I’ve watched every episode at least once. Even though they’re not my age group, I still fell for those 4 women. Also, I saw my friends in those women which therefore made me love it even more because it felt like I was looking into the future except there’s five of us, not four [and in case you were wondering, I see myself as a mixture between Miranda and Carrie, Sarah is Samantha, Laura is Charlotte and Lucy and Ana are a mix between Carrie and Charlotte.]

I have seen the first movie so many times that I know all the words, I’ve tried to copy Carrie’s outfits and I have my own version of her iconic gladiator heels that she wears at the beginning [mine from New Look, not Dior]. So, I could not wait for this movie, I’ve been excited about seeing it for weeks. And… it didn’t disappoint.

  • The clothes are fabulous, I loved every single outfit that Carrie wore [she’s my favourite, in case you hadn’t noticed!]. The clothes and the set are so extravagant that it turns a romantic comedy into an escape from reality. Some people don’t like the fact that the clothes cost thousands, especially in our financial state, but its amazing because we can dream about it and see these women look amazing. Its escapism in a realistic way. I love it, anyways. Also, the closet in this movie got a gasp from the audience and I was one of them; I demand a closet like that. I will buy a two bedroom apartment and turn the spare room into a closet. I will. I don’t care what you say, I am. By the way, my favourite in the film is the dress she wears on the poster, the blueish-yellowish one, its so beautiful and I would like it, please. Thank you.
  • I love the gay wedding. I’m a huge supporter of the gay community and I hate, hate, HATE that gay marriage is still illegal in several states. Its disgusting. This is 2010 for Pete’s sake. You can’t help who you fall in love with. No one should be discriminated for being in love. I don’t know if its just because I’m a big supporter but I felt the movie was making a statement. And the Liza Minnelli scene is incredible.
  • The airplane! OMG the airplane! The inside is just… wow, it makes me want to marry a billionaire. Its so fabulous and is, once again, escapism for the audience. I’m sorry, I just love seeing fabulous lives.
  • Omid Djalili is in it! Hurrah! Love him. He’s not a comedic character but I still love him.
  • Aiden!!! My favourite of the Carrie’s lovers. Obviously, Mr Big is awesome but I just loved Aiden so much.
  • OK… I will admit that I saw this movie on my own as I have no one to go with over here in America. Like I said, the characters remind me of my friends back in England. So… there came a moment when I realized how alike they were to us and… well, I started to cry. I started to cry into my M&Ms as I thought of my girls back in England and how much I miss them. I cried for a lot of the movie, to be honest. The friendship in this movie is so powerful. Be prepared, if you’re away from your friends, best not see this movie or you’ll be crying into your popcorn too.
  • I think there was a group of mum’s next to me in the cinema because when Miranda and Charlotte start talking about motherhood, some of them started cheering or laugh hysterically.
  • Gov from Hollyoaks is in it!!! I loved Hollyoaks back in England and I had to stop myself screaming and pointing at the screen going “ITS GOV!!! GOV IS IN A HOLLYWOOD MOVIE!!!” Hollyoaks people NEVER get into Hollywood movies! Well, what’s-her-name got two lines in Dark Knight but you couldn’t tell it was her. Gov got loads of lines and had the screen to himself!!! Good on him! Go Hollyoaks!
  • I love American audiences and this is why; there is a scene where Samantha is surrounded by angry men because she has little clothing on and condoms are all over the floor [its disrespectful to them] and she just starts screaming at them and everyone in the cinema started cheering! Its just… you don’t get that in England! I love how involved American audiences get! Love it! That’s what its all about!
  • However, I would like to say a little something… that there’s hardly any New York in this movie. I feel that that is where they went wrong, because its Sex and the CITY. Its supposed to be about New York just as much as the characters.
  • Please, ignore the ‘proper’ reviews. This film is as amazing as the first. It’s the TV show on sparkle-covered speed.

    146/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/05/27/sex-and-the-city-2/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

