Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

The following is based on actual events.

Only the names, locations and events have been changed.

  • The introduction to Ron Burgundy is perfect. You may think that the voice-over-man’s introduction is the introduction but I feel it isn’t, I feel it’s the ‘outtakes’ of Burgundy’s news reports which tell us exactly what this character is like.
  • In England, I watched this film looooads [and its still funny] but now that I’ve moved to USA and have watched the news over here on TV, I find the film even more hilarious.
  • The main 4 male characters are pure comic genius in my opinion. They’re in my top 5 favourite comedy characters [as a group, not on their own]. They’re all so wonderfully narcissistic [except Brick who is scared of his own reflection] and sexist [except Brick who doesn‘t know that a woman is not a man]. They’re just brilliant comedic characters! Ron is wonderfully dumb and egotistical, Brian is hilarious with his sex-drive, Champ is the annoying sports man with the biggest man crush and Brick is adorable with his ignorance and stupidity.
  • The costumes and makeup, and by makeup I mean hair, are fantastic. So 70s! The hair is amazing, they almost have characters of their own.
  • Baxter! Baxter is Ron’s dog and his voice of reason. I love the scene where Ron talks to Baxter like he understands his barks and then goes “what? You know I don’t speak Spanish.”
  • Its interesting [and hilarious] to see how the men reacted to the first female anchorwoman. You can imagine that it probably wasn’t that hard to write a script for four sexist men [sorry, three because Brick doesn’t count] talking about the female news reporter.
  • I’m not so much shocked by the cologne of Sex Panther but Brian’s collection of colognes! I didn’t know they made so many! And men, if you’re reading, for the love of all that is Holy, we don’t like it when you smell like you’ve bathed in the cologne. A little dab is fine, don’t wash your damn hair with it.
  • I love that the extent of Ron Burgundy’s stupidity goes to him saying literally anything that is on the teleprompter. To be honest, I think if I were on TV, I’d say whatever was on the prompter!
  • I have their version of Afternoon Delight on my iPod. Best cover song ever. Always makes me smile. And they do sound really good!
  • Champ hearts Burgundy! So funny!
  • The cameos in this movie! Oh, the cameos!!! Vince Vaughn Jack Black! Luke Wilson! Tim Robins! SUPERAWESOME Ben Stiller!
  • Love, love, LOVE the credits scene where the credits roll on the end of a show and Veronica and Ron [Burgundy] have smiles on their faces but they’re calling each other names and being really nasty to each other because we’ve all thought it at some point that when we see news people or TV hosts ‘talking’ over the credits that they’re actually arguing.
  • The News Team Fight. One of the greatest fights in movie histor, do you agree? And where did Brick get a hand grenade?
  • I thought it was great that there’s hardly any swearing in this movie. The comedy is purely the characters, not the swear words.
  • The outtakes at the end of movie are hilarious, I think all movies should have outtakes at the end. Even horror movies.
  • Now, for some of my favourite quotes:

    Ron Burgundy: [looking at his reflection in the mirror] Mmmmm… I look good. I mean really good. Hey everyone come see how good I look.

    Ron Burgundy: The human torch was denied a bank loan.

    Ron Burgundy: Ladies and gentlemen, can I please have your attention. I’ve just been handed an urgent and horrifying news story. I need all of you, to stop what you’re doing and listen. Cannonball!

    Ron Burgundy: [to Baxter the dog] What? You pooped in the refrigerator? And you ate the whole… wheel of cheese? How’d you do that? Heck, I’m not even mad; that’s amazing.

    [American version]
    Champ Kind: Tell me about it, this morning, I woke up and I shit a squirrel, but what I can’t get is the damn thing is still alive. So now, I’ve got a shit covered squirrel running around my office and I don’t know what to name it.
    Brick Tamland: O, I’m sorry champ, I think I ate your chocolate squirrel.

    [English version]
    Brian Fantana: That was one crazy party. I am hung over.
    Champ Kind: I woke up on the floor of some Japanese family’s rec room, and they would NOT stop screaming.
    Brick Tamland: I ate a big, red candle.

    Brian Fantana: Don’t get me wrong, I love the ladies. I mean they rev my engines, but they don’t belong in the newsroom!
    Champ Kind: It is anchor*man*, not anchor*lady*! And that is a scientific fact!
    Brick Tamland: I don’t know what we’re yelling about!
    Brian Fantana: You’re with us, Ron, what do you think?
    Ron Burgundy: [shouting] She… Sh… It’s terrible! She has beautiful eyes, and her hair smells like cinnamon!
    Brick Tamland: LOUD NOISES!

    Brick Tamland: [opposing women in the newsroom] I read somewhere their periods attract bears. Bears can smell the menstruation.

    Ed Harken: Apparently, my son was on something called “Acid,” and was shooting a bow and arrow into a crowd.

    Brick Tamland: I love… carpet.
    [pause]
    Brick Tamland: I love… desk.
    Ron Burgundy: Brick, are you just looking at things in the office and saying that you love them?
    Brick Tamland: I love lamp.
    Ron Burgundy: Do you really love the lamp, or are you just saying it because you saw it?
    Brick Tamland: I love lamp. I love lamp

    Ron Burgundy: Last time I looked in the dictionary, my name’s Ron Burgundy. What’s your name?
    Brian Fantana: Brian Fantana.
    Champ Kind: Champ Kind.
    Brick Tamland: Brian Fantana.
    Brian Fantana: No, you’re Brick.
    Brick Tamland: Brian.
    Brian Fantana: I’m Brian.

    Ron Burgundy: [in a phone booth] I’m in a glass case of emotion!

    Brian Fantana: Ron, I know it sounds harsh, but God does not want her to live.

    And on that note… go f**k yourself, San Diego.

    134/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/05/16/anchorman-the-legend-of-ron-burgundy/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

