North by Northwest

Finally! A Hitchcock movie I actually really enjoyed! Hurrah! Anyways, it’s a movie about mistaken identity which is a mixture of great scriptwriting and terribly cheesy lines which make you hide behind your cushion.

  • James Mason! Makes me think of Eddie Izzard and his impression of him and how he normally uses James Mason’s voice as God. “I created the world in 6 days… 7th day rested, 8th day I actually rested as well, 9th day rested, actually, I rested from then on, really…”
  • I liked that I very quickly got an idea of what the character was like because that made the ‘jumping into the complicated plot points’ a lot easier.
  • However, 7 minutes in and I could already spot 2 very obvious continuity mistakes.
  • I love the brownish-blue tint this film has… or it could just be everyone got a complimentary spray tan before they went on set…
  • Had a tiny problem when he was kidnapped and in the library because… well… there’s a bloody phone right there! What the hell stopped him calling the police?!
  • I was a little confused by Cary Grant’s accent but then I looked him up and he was well known for his weird American-English accent which I guess I’ll probably get one day as I’ve moved from England to the US.
  • Loved Grant’s drunken faces as he was driving!
  • “You gentlemen aren’t REALLY trying to kill my son, are you?” Oh, mother’s can be rather embarrassing can’t they…
  • $2 fine for a DUI?! Bloody hell…
  • The script is very cleverly written because they have the scenes that if you didn’t know what the man was like then you would get the wrong idea and the characters did get the wrong idea and Cary Grant is like “no, you don’t understand!” and the audience is like “we understand, why don’t YOU understand!” and its all very frustrating in an entertaining way!
  • “I’m a big girl.” “In all the right places.” This is just one of the many examples of BAD script writing that made me want to hurl, especially the way the actors say it, its just wrong! “Taste in women…” “I like your flavour.” Oh my God, NO! NO!!!
  • I can see why the airplane scene is so iconic. I actually knew about it before I watched the film because I saw Seth Rogen do a photo shoot and one of the photos was that one.
  • I watched ‘Great Movie Mistakes’ on BBC iPlayer and one of them was in this movie and I spotted it again. When Cary Grant and the woman are in the cafeteria place towards the end of the movie and she pulls out a gun, look for a little boy in the background who puts his fingers in his ears because he knows there’s going to be a few big bangs!
  • The ending is just crap. It was so good till he was leaning down to get her and then it cuts to them on the train. No, it was just crap. They could of done a much better ending!
  • 131/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    Published in: on May 13, 2010 at 2:01 PM  Leave a Comment  
    Tags: , , , ,

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/05/13/north-by-northwest/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

