Blazing Saddles

Oooo I loved this movie, its so funny! And I think I like it even more because it takes the piss out of westerns which I’ve been despising lately.

  • The white men are incredibly racist to the black people but they’re portrayed as the dumb, stupid, bad people and the black people are the smart, good guys.
  • What made me realize that this was going to be on hell of a weird western spoof was when Hedley Lamarr starts humping the statue. Then there’s the cattle in the saloon.
  • I love that the Governor has ‘GOV’ stitched onto the back of his jacket and the KKK have ‘have a nice day’ on their robes.
  • The new sheriff takes himself hostage and OMG, its so freaking funny, especially the townsfolk’s reaction.
  • There is a scene completely dedicated to farts and burps, a male paradise.
  • I love the little nod to Loony Toons.
  • Madeline Kahn is a great comedic actress!
  • I love just how quick The Waco Kid is, totally ripping on those ‘fast cowboys’.
  • Tehehe, there’s a great scene where he’s getting all the bad guys to list their ‘qualifications’ such as rape and murder, then one of the guys has gum in his mouth and he gets shot because he didn’t have enough to give to everyone.
  • I love that they totally break down the forth wall and interact with the audience and say things that show that they’re just acting and that this is a movie. They break the fourth wall so much that, during a big fight, they actually break a wall and land in another movie set! Then some of the characters go to the cinema to see ‘Blazing Saddles”! Brilliant!!!
  • Love the toll booth! Why are cowboys on horses going through a toll booth so damn funny?!
  • Then they drive off into the sunset in a limo. Genius.
  • The rest of the review shall be my favourite quotes and the main reasons why I think you should all watch this movie:


    Church Congregation: [singing] Now is a time of great decision/Are we to stay or up and quit?/There’s no avoiding this conclusion/Our town is turning into shit.
    Reverend Johnson: Amen.

    Reverend Johnson: Now I don’t have to tell you good folks what’s been happening in our beloved little town. Sheriff murdered, crops burned, stores looted, people stampeded, and cattle raped. The time has come to act, and act fast. I’m leaving.

    [looks into the camera]
    Hedley Lamarr: But where would I find such a man?
    [pause]
    Hedley Lamarr: Why am I asking you?

    Jim: Look at my hand.
    [raises hand and holds it level]
    Bart: Steady as a rock.
    Jim: [raises his other hand, which is violently trembling] Yeah, but I shoot with this one.

    Hedley Lamarr: Qualifications?
    Bart[dressed as KKK]: Stampeding cattle.
    Hedley Lamarr: That’s not much of a crime.
    Bart: Through the Vatican?
    Hedley Lamarr: [smiling] Kinkyyyy.

    Hedley Lamarr: Men, you are about to embark on a great crusade to stamp out runaway decency in the west. Now you men will only be risking your lives, whilst I will be risking an almost certain Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actor.

    119/212

    Kate
    Xoxo

    PS: I won’t be watching a film tomorrow as I’m taking part in a 24hr film challenge so, unfortunately, I’ll be back to being 2 films behind but oh well!

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/04/30/blazing-saddles/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

