Dirty Harry

  • Clint Eastwood?! In a suit?! Where’s the horse?!
  • The killer left the shell casting. Dumbass.
  • This movie is just filled with quotes!!! “When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butcher’s knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn’t out collecting for the Red Cross!” bwa ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!!
  • I love that as Harry shot the bank robbers, he was still eating his hotdog. Only Clint Eastwood, John McClane and Gene Hunt could get away with that.
  • I’m sorry, I know it’s the 70s but my God, they could of used something better than bright pink paint for blood.
  • “I know what you’re thinking. ‘Did he fire six shots or only five?’ Well, to tell you the truth, in all this excitement I kind of lost track myself. But being as this is a .44 Magnum, the most powerful handgun in the world, and would blow your head clean off, you’ve got to ask yourself one question: ‘Do I feel lucky?’ Well, do ya, punk?” Classic. And I loved that he repeated it at the end of the film too but its changed from being comical to being very sinister. I actually knew this ‘speech’ before I watched the movie because Ryan Stiles said it on Whose Line Is It Anyway? as Carol Channing. I love that people can know lines from a film without ever seeing it, I think that’s an incredible achievement!
  • I don’t know whether it was intentional but whatever, I loved that as soon as we see black bank robbers, we then see a black doctor. I know racism was big in the 70s so I thought it was great of them to show that the stereotype of black people being criminals is not the case at all.
  • Doctor: Sure, Harry. We can save the leg.
    [takes out some scissors]
    Harry Callahan: What are you going to do with those?
    Doctor: Going to cut your pants off.
    Harry Callahan: No. I’ll take them off.
    Doctor: It’ll hurt.
    Harry Callahan: $29.50, let it hurt.
  • I didn’t like the casting for the killer. He’s a great actor and does psycho well but he just looks too young! He looks 12!</li
  • I looked it up and Clint Eastwood was 41 when he made this movie!!! 41!! He looks damn good for 41! And with the most gorgeous hair ever!
  • After Harry is called a peeping-tom after looking through a window, his ‘partner’ Gonzales says “I’ve another thought about why they call you Dirty Harry…” it doesn’t seem as funny in typing but in the movie it is. Espeically as moments later, he misses the killer opening a door because he’s watching a naked girl through another window through binoculars.
  • Boo at Die Hard 3 for stealing the plot line of getting directions via telephone booths from Dirty Harry!
  • Another reason why the actor playing the killer was a bit wrong was because when Harry stabbed him, he makes the most hilarious facial expression and noise! It just doesn’t work because it feels like he’s playing him comically rather than mental.
  • I don’t know if its because I’ve watched too much Ashes to Ashes and therefore think about the mind of the criminal but I caught on pretty quickly that the killer killed for pleasure rather than for the money. Especially as he was able to take money twice and didn’t do it either times. And it really, really annoyed me that the killer was all like “OMG YOU TRIED TO KILL ME! WHAT THE HELL! I WANT MY LAWYER! I HAVE A RIGHT!” its just… ergh, it made me hate the character that little bit more and I was just begging for Harry to kill him there and then or shout at him at least.
  • The killer’s not old enough to drink, he’s 12!!!
  • I loved the shot of Harry on the bridge. He’s just standing there, watching the bus. And it’s a wide shot so you can’t see his face but you can totally tell its him. He just has this presence! Also, who else could it be, lol. But what’s even more amazing and awesome is that Mr Eastwood did his own stunt! He jumped from the bridge and onto the bus! Good on him!
  • Great film, can see why it’s a classic and how it sparked so many great cop movies and shows.

    101/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    Published in: on April 11, 2010 at 9:59 PM  Leave a Comment  
    Tags: , , , ,

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/04/11/dirty-harry/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

