Planet of the Apes

7.45pm – I don’t mind watching this movie but I really just want to watch one of these movies on my list and not have to worry about notes. However, I will try my best but I don’t promise anything. Sorry.

10.06pm – It took a bit of getting into but I ended up really liking this movie. I only made a few notes but that doesn’t mean that I didn’t like it.

  • The beginning was incredibly slow and boring, just three guys doing a lot of walking. Then they’re like “oh, look, life!” “Yay! Lets dig it up!”
  • I love the idea of monkeys being the higher-being. I thought it was incredibly clever and interesting to see it the other way round. I remember thinking “oh my God, you don’t just shove a woman into a man’s cage and expect them to ‘mate’” but then I realized that that’s actually what we do to apes. It’s a movie that really got me thinking. The whole thing [except first 30 minutes which just bored me] was perfectly written.
  • The make-up is extraordinary, except the mouths but I can let that go. You can totally tell how the character is feeling, even through the heavy make-up.
  • I laughed out loud a few times; when Taylor [the human] threw the paper airplane and the ape’s reaction to it. Don’t know quite why but I thought that was funny. Also, the classic three monkeys were ‘seen’ in the court scene “see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil”. Ooo, by the way, that court scene was one of the best court scenes I’ve ever seen in a movie, I wasn’t bored once!
  • I feel so stupid for not seeing that ending coming. Its so obvious and yet I was like “OMG NO WAY!”
  • Yeah, see, that review/my notes don’t give the film justice at all. I would watch it again if I could just skip the first half an hour.

    87/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/03/30/planet-of-the-apes/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

