Serenity

Cool film! I really enjoyed it! Should of rented it on DVD so could of watched it with my dad, I think he may like it. Serenity is a cross between Star Wars, Indiana Jones and 28 Days Later with some comedy thrown in.

  • Fantastic CGI, quite beautiful in some parts.
  • I love the soundtrack! Its so different to other sci-fi movies, its… I’m not sure how to explain it but I loved it, its not all orchestra-style, I think I heard acoustic guitar and stuff…
  • At the beginning, after the title appears, it felt like I was watching a TV show but gradually it turned into a movie.
  • There were a few ‘laugh out loud’ moments which I loved, they’re highly quotable; “Way I remember it, albatross was a ship’s good luck, ’til some idiot killed it. [to Inara] Yes, I’ve read a poem. Try not to faint.”, “I won’t get et! You shoot me if they take me! [Mal aims pistol squarely at Jayne] Well, don’t shoot me first!”, “This is the captain. We have a little problem with our entry sequence, so we may experience some slight turbulence and then – explode.”, “Do you want to run this ship?” “Yes!” “Well… you can’t…” and “Doctor, I’m takin’ your sister under my protection here. If anything happens to her, anything at all, I swear to you, I will get very choked up. Honestly, there could be tears.”
  • It has fun with the classic sci-fi script: “Remember, if anything happens to me, or you don’t hear from me within the hour… you take this ship and you come and you rescue me.” “What? And risk my ship?” “I mean it. It’s cold out there. I don’t wanna get left.”
  • “In all that time on the ship… I’ve always regretted… not being with you.” “With me? You mean to say… as in sex?” “I mean to say.” “To Hell with this. I’m gonna live!” tehehe, gotta live for sex!
  • Its got the guy from Numb3rs in it!
  • The ‘bad guy’ is English, obviously.
  • I thought it was very interesting and clever that during the big CGI fight scene towards the end, that some of it was shot like it was a hand-held camera! It felt more real that way, I loved it!
  • The character River was annoying throughout most of the film but then at the end, she’s actually pretty kick-ass.
  • “No more running… I’m aiming for mischief…”

    85/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/03/28/serenity/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

