Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire

“Everything is a gift of the universe.”

My apologies if this review doesn’t make any sense but I am yet again at the stage where I’m thinking “why the hell did I agree to do this challenge!?” Plus, I don’t think any review I make will give justice to this movie.

  • The costumes in Precious’ daydreams are fabulous! The costumes and Precious’ happiness make those daydreams an escape for the audience, not just for Precious. Its wonderful to watch because I want Precious to be so happy and it was nice to witness her with all this confidence and happiness that she doesn’t have in real life.

  • I love the narrating of this movie, that we see it almost 100% from Precious’ point of view. We’ve had a few movies like this where there are bad kids/kid and their school stuff but its mainly from the teacher’s “how do I reach these kids?” point of view. It made a nice change to hear the from the teenager’s side.
  • I can’t believe Precious was suspended for being pregnant. Its quite disgusting.
  • The mother, Mar, says the most horrid things that you could say to your daughter or anyone for that matter. However, as I think about it after hearing Mary’s ‘excuse’, I can now see where the hatred comes from. There is no excuse in the world for that Mary says to her daughter but at least now I understand.
  • Precious looks at photos and TV shows to get the encouragement she will never get in real life.
  • The teacher, Ms Blue, looks like JLo.
  • Precious thinks that if she were white, it would all be OK.
  • All I can say is nice try Mariah Carey.
  • The poor first baby has downs-syndrome. I thought that this was key because if a baby has the same gene and stuff, it is going to come out with some kind of disability.
  • It was horrible to see that Mary can be nice and civilized when the social worker is there.
  • There was a good clip where the camera is rotating around Precious and in the background, on the walls, you see these projected clips from history, to show how much Precious has learned. And to make the moment even sweeter, she says she going to teach her babies this stuff too.
  • Its so lovely to see Precious happy and laughing in real life with her new friends. To be honest, any moment when Precious shows the slightest sign of being happy is a fantastic moment. I just felt so much love for this character, I wanted to help her and hug her so badly.
  • Precious just gave birth, she comes home from the hospital and her mum is like “make me a drink”. Oh my God, I was livid!! Then Mary THROWS THE NEWBORN BABY into the nearest chair and throws something at Precious. Oh my God, I felt sick with anger and sadness. It never ceases to amaze me what movies can do to a person. I was like “RUN, PRECIOUS, RUN AWAY!” and she did and then she falls down the stairs and I jumped and put my hand over my mouth, praying that the baby was OK and he was, he was fine, but then Mary throws the damn TV down the stairs and oh my God, if you felt nothing in that scene then you are a heartless piece of work, you are just as bad as Mary if you felt nothing. I’m sorry, that’s harsh but bloody hell, I’ve never felt like that during a scene in a movie.

  • I thought it was very clever when Precious gets told some bad news and she goes straight into her daydream of happiness.

  • The man who was supposed to love Mary loved her daughter, that is why she hates her so much. That’s a very powerful scene, when Mary explains herself.

  • Mo’Nique deserves every award she won, she truly was the monster.

  • For Precious girls everywhere. It makes me so sad to know there are more Precious’ out there. I feel so blessed and lucky to have the family and life that I do. This movie has made me appreciate it all so much.
  • Any movie that can make you feel things and do things that you’ve never done for any other movie is a fantastic one. This is a truly wonderful film that completely engrosses you in it. I recommend you should probably watch it alone or with someone you’re willing to either cry with or you’re not afraid to scream at the TV in front of them. You will feel emotions you’ve never felt for a movie before.

    80/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    Published in: on March 23, 2010 at 1:08 PM  Comments (1)  
    Tags: , , , , ,

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/03/23/precious-based-on-the-novel-push-by-sapphire/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    One CommentLeave a comment

    1. O-M-G I can’t believe she would do that to a new born baby! thanks for the review as it would be far to sad for me to actually watch myself lol


    Leave a Reply

