Gladiator

12.19PM – Grrr, I’m back to being 2 films behind. Anyways, I’ve never seen this movie the whole way through before and I’m actually looking forward to it. However, the review might not be that great because alas, I am not well yet again [but feeling better than yesterday when I could hardly bloody walk!].

4.44pm –

  • Opening scene with the fight in the forest was, I’m ashamed to say, a shock to me. Unfortunately, I’m naive enough to forget that there were battles for Rome in forests. Not everything was sad and stone back then. Also, I thought it was very interesting and breath of fresh air to show death in battle as a terribly sad thing rather than a heroic thing.
  • DUMBLEDORE AGAIN! Before he was Dumbledore but he practically was Dumbledore in this but stupid enough to not notice his son was going to kill him.
  • They’re brother and sister?! Ew, bit too close.
  • Maximus the Farmer. I thought that it was very interesting that the audience was reminded that before this war, these soldiers were ordinary men too, just like in WW1 & 2. That’s never really shown in the other movies.
  • Its so sweet to see Maximus so happy when he talks about his family and home. He’s a simple man of simple pleasures which makes what happens to him even more horrible.
  • Dumbledore wants someone pure to rule, not someone corrupted.
  • I love the costumes in this, especially worn by the ‘royals’.
  • Russell Crowe is actually really good in this movie and I have no idea why I’m so surprised!
  • Oh. My. God. I should not watch this movie in my emotional state. When he finds them. The feet. Oh my God, I was crying my freaking eyes out, such a horrible image even though you never see the full extent of their damage. The feet and Maximus’ reaction are heartbreaking enough.
  • Omid Djalili! He should have been in this more, he’s just awesome.
  • Humans fighting humans for entertainment. Horrible to believe this actually happened.
  • Gorgeous CGI in this movie, its all about landscape and lighting!
  • ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED! Classic line #1.
  • I couldn’t help but hear Jimmy Carr’s voice in my head. He said [on Qi, great show by the way] that in these movies, the sets are ruins. Yes, they’re ruins now but they weren’t back then!
  • EW! BROTHER! EW EW EW!
  • Eyebrows! Crazy eyebrow man with crazy wig. Eyebrows which look like they could jump up and kill you.
  • Such a sweet scene when Maximus is with Lucius, Lucilla’s son. We see a glimpse of Maximus the Father and how he was with his own son.
  • Bwa ha ha ha ha ha! I didn’t realize the gas canister under one of the horse-carriage thingys was actually that obvious! I think its one of the biggest movie mistakes ever and how the editor didn’t spot it or think no one would is beyond me.
  • “My name is Maximus Decimus Meridius, commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Marcus Aurelius. Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife. And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next.” Classic line #2.
  • Now, as I’ve mentioned I love the show Qi and I have their book The Book Of General Ignorance. As I watched this movie, I remembered it being mentioned in this book. So, here’s a little fact for you; “Neither Roman spectators calling for the death of a gladiator, nor Roman Emperors authorizing one, ever gave a thumbs down. In fact, the Romans didn’t use a ‘thumbs down’ sign at all. If death was desired, the thumb was stuck up – like a drawn sword. For a loser’s life to be spared, the thumb was tucked away inside the closed fist – as with a sheathed weapon.” So this movie is wrong, though not at the fault of Ridley Scott [director]. He was shown a painting by Hollywood executives by Jean-Léon Gérôme of a Roman gladiator awaiting his fate as an emperor gives a thumbs down to give the death sentence. Scott was apparently eventually told about this and said that he kept it the way it is in the movie, Commodus giving the thumbs up, as to ‘not confuse the audience’. Fair enough, not everyone would understand.
  • When I look back at the Roman headstones, the Senators in this movie actually look like people from Rome in those times!
  • Cool tiger helmet. Poor real tigers.
  • I felt hatred bubbling up inside me when Commodus spoke ill of Maximus’ wife and child. Had to remind myself it was a movie!
  • Juba: Can they hear you? Maximus: Who? Juba: Your family. In the afterlife. Maximus: Oh yes. Juba: What do you say to them? Maximus: To my son – I tell him I will see him again soon. To keep his heels down while riding his horse. To my wife… that is not your business. Me: Tehehe!
  • I thought it was very interesting that Commodus is the evil one yet has a very soft voice and Maximus is the good one and has a very harsh, gravely voice.
  • Brilliant film, I would happily watch it again and recommend it to all.

    78/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/03/21/gladiator/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    2 CommentsLeave a comment

    1. excellent review yet again, even if my opinion does not count I will give it anyway!

    2. very nice site thanks alot my friend bookmarkd!


    Leave a Reply

