Juno

I’ve always loved this movie, Juno is in my top 5 favourite movie characters. In secondary school, in drama class, my character was always either the drunk one or the pregnant one so I think its along those lines as to why I love this movie.

  • I thought it was clever to show the seasons to really show how long pregnancy takes. I guess I liked this because I’m so sick of soap operas [mainly Hollyoaks] who have their characters be pregnant for 3 months then give birth to a healthy baby.
  • I love the character of Juno, she’s just so awesome and totally someone I’d hang out with if she were real. Though, to be honest… I feel that there is a part of Juno in every young female and therefore makes her very relatable. I also love her sense of humor, her attitude towards her pregnancy and burger phone.
  • The opening song makes me sad because I gave the song to an old crush to use in our play and now I think of rejection when I hear this song. F*****g men… Anyways, loved the cartoon effect in the opening sequence and I read somewhere that it took over 7 months to make!
  • The shopkeeper in this movie is another character favourite of mine. He’s not in it for long but he makes his mark with some of the funniest lines in the movie which I will quote at the end of the review.
  • This movie is half about the characters and story and stuff and the other half is all about the soundtrack. Its like the whose-who of indie music and everything the character Juno would listen to. I love this soundtrack, I have a few of the songs on my iTunes!
  • Juno’s friend is so lovely and is like a combination of my closest girls put together. I found it very interesting that they chose her to be a cheerleader as she isn’t the typical movie-cheerleader especially as she fancies old, bearded teachers [that’s one thing my girls don’t do, thank God].
  • I loooove the intro to Bleaker and how the clips match the lyrics to the song in their own unique way. Plus I still love Michael Cera.
  • One of the other things I love about this movie as a whole is that it’s the other side of teen pregnancy. Most people, thanks to the media and stereotypes, think of pregnant teens as being whores who go out every night, drink and have sex with anything that stands still long enough. Obviously, this is kind of true but there are others who aren’t like that at all and one of them is Juno [and have you seen the movie Mom at Sixteen? Its like this one but not as funny]. There are teen mums out there who do it for good and not because they want to get on Maury.
  • What DOES sexually active mean?!
  • I love the introduction to Juno’s family, especially about her birth-mum ‘Oh, and she inexplicably mails me a cactus every Valentine’s Day. And I’m like, “Thanks a heap coyote ugly. This cactus-gram stings even worse than your abandonment.”’ Sorry, I know I was going to leave quotes till the end but that line sums up what I wanted to say anyways.
  • “I don’t know what kind of girl I am.” We’ve all been there and therefore want to hug little Junbug!
  • The perfect couple was perfectly casted! Jennifer Garner and Jason Bateman were fantastic in their own ways and were just, for lack of a better word, perfect. I totally fell for Vanessa who’s the biggest sweetheart ever and I can relate to as I get the feeling that I was born to be a mother [when I’m older, obviously, don’t freak out mum.] And then Bateman is great as Mark which must have been a kind of hard role to play, especially towards the end where… he… y’know… I think he falls for Juno, I’m still not entirely sure, I don’t think anyone is sure to be honest…
  • Cute moment when the baby finally kicks for Vanessa and she’s so happy and then you see Juno who looks happy because she knows she’s found the perfect mother for the baby.
  • This film, for some reason, gave me the serious munchies. I’m starving after watching it!
  • I can’t find the quote but when Juno says that as soon as you’re old enough to go to prom, its no longer cool which is totally true.
  • Even though Juno is mostly all laughs about the pregnancy, it was nice to see her negativity about it; she says she’s wearing a fat suit she can’t take off, everyone stares at her, she looks like a planet and also says ‘are you ashamed we did it? At least you don’t have the evidence under your sweater’.
  • I thought the fact that Mark wears mainly teen/young adult style clothes really gave the audience that extra push that this man suffers from ‘Peter Pan’ syndrome and doesn’t want to grow up.
  • Oooooo the weird moment between Mark/Juno in the basement!! Ooooo! Super cringe!! Then I felt soooo sad for poor Juno who wants to believe in a happy family so badly!
  • Awww at Juno/Bleaker! Such a cute, perfect couple.
  • The baby that ‘came out’ of Juno looks like a proper, fresh baby! How did they do that?! Just wait for a baby to pop out then ask the mum if they could quickly take it away to be in a movie? Or is it simply just really good make-up…
  • Loved the performance of “Anyone Else” at the end by Juno and Bleaker, nice sweet little ending.
  • This film is just filled with quotes galore which I will now finished the review with my favourite ones [probably won‘t be in order of the movie, by the way]:
  • Leah: Yo Yo Yiggady Yo.
    Juno: I’m at suicide risk.
    Leah: Juno?
    Juno: No, it’s Morgan Freeman. Do you have any bones that need collecting?
    Leah: Only the one in my pants…

    Mac MacGuff: [a very pregnant Juno enters the room] Hey there, big puffy version of Junebug!

    Juno: You should’ve gone to China, you know, ’cause I hear they give away babies like free iPods. You know, they pretty much just put them in those t-shirt guns and shoot them out at sporting events.

    Rollo: You better pay for that pee-stick when you’re done with it. Don’t think it’s yours just because you marked it with your urine!

    Rollo: So what’s the prognosis, Fertile Myrtle? Minus or plus?
    Juno: I don’t know. It’s not seasoned yet.
    [grabs strawberry lace]
    Juno: I’ll take some of these. Nope… There it is. The little pink plus sign is so unholy.
    [shakes pregnancy tester]
    Rollo: That ain’t no Etch-A-Sketch. This is one doodle that can’t be un-did, Homeskillet.

    [at Juno’s ultrasound]
    Leah: Whoa! Check out Baby Big Head. Dude, that thing is freaky lookin’.
    Juno: Excuse me. I am a sacred vessel, alright? All you’ve got in your stomach is Taco Bell.

    Paulie: I still have your underwear.
    Juno: I still have your virginity.

    Vanessa: Oh, I thought I would get some drinks. What would anyone like? I have Pellegrino, or Vitamin Water or Orange Juice or…
    Juno: I’ll have a Maker’s Mark, please. Up.
    Mac MacGuff: She’s kidding. Junebug has a wonderful sense of humor. Just one of her many genetic gifts.

    Mac MacGuff: Thanks for having me and my irresponsible child over your house.

    Juno: I’m just gonna go ahead an nip this thing in the bud. Cuz you know, they say pregnancy often leads to, you know… [brief pause] infants…

    Vanessa Loring: How do I look?
    Bren: Like a new mom. Scared shitless.

    Bren: When you move out I’m getting two Weimaraners!
    Juno: WHOA DREAM BIG!
    Bren: Oh, go fly a kite!

    Juno: Silencio, Old Man!

    Leah: [reading] “Wholesome, spiritually wealthy couple have found true love with each other.” Aw… all that’s missing is your bastard!
    Juno: I want a parakeet.

    Juno: I am giving you the gift of life, screaming, pooping life, and you don’t even have to be there when it comes out all covered in blood and guts.

    Juno: It ended with a chair.

    77/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/03/19/juno/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    2 CommentsLeave a comment

    1. I watched this film the day before I read this so I really enjoyed reading this one! I noticed something at the end of this film the other day that I hadnt noticed before; right at the end, when Juno and Bleaker were sitting outside the house singing, Juno had just left her house where the stepmum had two dogs (which she said she’d only get once Juno moved out) and the steps or whatever they’re sitting on are not from Juno or Bleakers houses which means THEY MOVED IN TOGETHER!!! As ludicrous as this is (because they were only 16, even if it was supposed to be a long time later, it obviously wasnt THAT long because they still looked the same) it was still really cute!! but it didnt really come across too well because im pretty sure not many people noticed, so that little aspect of the film making was (just a little bit) useless…. Sorry this comment is so long! O.o xx

      • OOOoooo I’d never noticed that! Thanks for pointing that out!! x


    Leave a Reply

