The Year of Living Dangerously

Meh. Its pretty crap but it has some good moments or at least moments I could comment on.

  • The beginning narrator/Mel Gibson’s camera man sounds like someone from South Park. Then about half-way through watching the movie I was my brother’s taxi service and when I came back I had a look on Wikipedia about the movie and found out that Billy [the camera man] is played by a woman; Linda Hunt! She is fantastic, I didn’t think for one minute that Billy was portrayed by a woman. Hunt is brilliant and kind of what acting is all about; becoming someone else. I think I read somewhere that Hunt was the first woman to win an Oscar for playing a male character and she totally deserved that.
  • This seems to be the only movie ever were Mel Gibson actually looks good. He also sounds so different with the Australian accent. He’s still very hairy though. His arms are like gorilla arms.
  • Its horrible seeing what people in 3rd World Countries will do for money, then its even worse when you see the Western people actually pay them to be degraded.
  • I felt no connection to the any of the characters except Billy and the mother and child who he visits and gives money and food. Mel Gibson and Sigourney Weaver’s characters are just blegh. I just felt nothing towards them and their ‘love story’, it was just crap. I didn’t buy their ‘oh, we love each other but we can’t be together’ bullcrap. It was just crap!!! But, like I said, I felt a connection to the mother and child Billy sees and its so horrible because the poor child is really sick, probably because of their poor living conditions. I’ve said this a few times in my reviews that I love children so seeing this poor boy so ill was heartbreaking. I think that there is nothing worse than a dying child, especially when the death could be so easily avoided if they had money. I gave $2 out of my birthday money to a charity outside Wallmart today and the woman was so grateful and I smiled for hours. Watching this movie and seeing these poor people [especially children] in such poverty makes me so sad and yet so thankful that I am so blessed to be where I am now, that I have a computer, that I have food and water just down stairs and money in my bank account. This movie makes me want to help them. There was a clip where the people are fighting for rice and there are children eating rice off the floor and then in the next scene, Billy asks why the journalists don’t tell ‘the real story’. If you are reading this then please, please, PLEASE, be grateful for what you have. There are people out there who would kill to live in a house and have clean water and food. Whether you’ve broken up with your boyfriend or your best friend just betrayed you or something, just remember that there are worse things that could happen to you.
  • I thought it was good that they would have a scene based on the poverty then cut to the rich people and journalists having parties. The contrasts are horrible to watch because it’s the truth.
  • This movie will make you feel grateful for what you have, but aside from that, you’ll probably feel nothing. It’s a bit of a crap movie. I think the only reason it got onto Empire’s top 500 movies is because of the realistic portrayal of poverty [I think it was probably real footage] and Linda Hunt’s Academy Award winning performance.

    63/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    Published in: on March 6, 2010 at 5:50 PM  Leave a Comment  
    Tags: , , ,

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/03/06/the-year-of-living-dangerously/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

