Aladdin

1.08am – Ooops! I finished watching this movie about an hour ago and then started watching Oscar things on YouTube! Best just write the review and then go back to watching Halle Berry cry.

1.47am – I know Disney is evil and everything but I’m still a little 6 year old girl on the inside and think Disney is awesome. I haven’t watched this film in soooo long because we somehow lost the VHS to it years ago. So it kind of felt like I was watching it again for the first time!

  • I loooove “Arabian Nights”! Its such an awesome song! I actually had to stop the movie and go back to the beginning just so I could listen to it again.
  • <LiI could totally tell that the Narrator/merchant was voiced by Robin Williams, he has a voice that is just so recognizable now. I liked that this character broke the 4th wall and spoke to the camera/audience. Its that kind of thing which would bring the child that was watching into the movie and probably confuse the hell out of them but whatever, it’s a good film technique.

  • The audience instantly know who the bad guy is because his accent has a slight British twang to it. Oh, and he’s wearing dark clothes and has that kind of Jeremy Irons voice even though its not him but you know what I mean. And of course he has the quirky side-kick of a talking parrot [?!?!].
  • I know that Aladdin is out ‘diamond in the rough’ but they don’t need to repeat that sentence 10 times in one scene.
  • The monkey was cute until he took the pink diamond thing, then he oddly became annoying to me.
  • I was going to write this huge paragraph on how Aladdin stealing because he’s poor is similar to some of today’s teenagers who resort to crime because of their wealth but my God, I cannot be arsed.
  • Even though the Zefron [Zac Efron to you older people] was 5 when this movie was released, Aladdin sounds like him. And the first song he sings sounds like it just came out of High School Musical. It automatically became my most hated song in this movie. As you can probably sense, you won’t be getting a review of High School Musical any time soon…
  • Every little girl [especially in the 90s] had their Disney Princess and mine was Jasmine to the point where I had the Jasmine costume! Ooooo that reminds me that I can finally scan those pictures of my friends when they were younger and post them on Facebook! Sorry, totally off subject there… aaaanyways, I don’t quite understand why Jasmine was my favourite as at the beginning of the movie, all I could think of was “oh, boo hoo rich kid”. But I think I stopped thinking that once she pretended to be crazy and called the camel her doctor and then she became awesome. Jasmine’s father, on the other hand, felt like Santa but a bit less understanding. And it’s the classic tale where the high-mighty person’s most trusted advisor is the bad guy.
  • Classic Disney where they’ve known each other for less than 30min and they’re already leaning in for their first kiss. That would never happen in real life unless there was alcohol involved. THEN he talks about her a couple of hours after meeting her and is talking about marriage! “She’s smart, fun and beautiful!” YOU GOT THAT FROM TALKING TO HER FOR 10 MINUTES?! Bloody Disney, gotta love it.
  • I think because I’ve seen this movie done for panto [Americans need to look up panto, its awesome] so many times that I can’t help but think of children’s reactions to this movie. I think “oh, this is when the kids will laugh” or “this is when they’ll get scared” and “this is when the sweets get thrown into the crowd by Aladdin’s mum who’s dressed in a breakfast dress”.
  • Is it weird that I found the carpet character to be incredibly adorable?
  • GENIE!!! ROBIN WILLIAMS AT HIS BEST!!! He’s officially my #1 favourite character ever! He’s actually taken over Ron Burgundy and the cops from Superbad. The animation to his voice was beyond perfect! My cheeks hurt from laughing so much! I find Robin Williams hilarious on his own but when you put his voice to a cartoon, its just extraordinarily funny! I can’t quite describe how perfect it was. Pure genius, its all I can say. I bow to the person who said Robin Williams should be the genie. I could quote the genie so much, I could actually quote everything he says, its just amazing. Examples: “You know Al, I’m getting really – [turns and sees Jafar] – I don’t think you’re him.” “It’s all part and parcel, the whole “genie gig”: [grows to a gigantic size] PHENOMENAL COSMIC POWERS! [shrinks down inside the lamp] Itty-bitty living space!” “Oh, Al. I’m gettin’ kinda fond of you, kid. Not that I wanna pick out curtains or anything.” “Genie, wake up and smell the hummus.” “[looks at a script] Tonight, the part of Al will be played by a tall, dark and sinister ugly man.”… oops, think may of gotten a little overboard there but whatever! Made me chuckle again!
  • And the songs “Friend Like Me” and “Prince Ali” are two of my favourite Disney songs!
  • I bet that even if you’ve never seen Aladdin, you know some of the words to ‘A Whole New World’.
  • When Jasmine pretends to be in love with the bad guy, its done in an incredibly sexual voice! I was shocked, grossed and impressed all at the same time!
  • Its just a classic Disney movie but far more hilarious than the others because of the beyond-amazing Robin Williams.

    Now to watch some more Oscars stuff on YouTube and probably a couple of Robin Williams interviews even though its 1.46am

    57/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/02/27/aladdin/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    One CommentLeave a comment

    1. you made a pretty good Princess Jasmine yourself actually!!!


    Leave a Reply

