Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

As much as I really enjoyed this movie, I’m so tired and feeling rather weak so this may turn out to be a crap review or just not make sense. A lot like the movie.

  • Ew at the blood title!
  • “He who makes a beast of himself gets rid of the pain of being a man”. Don’t know why that stuck out to me as a great ‘opening’ but it did.
  • Johnny Depp is fantastic in this, as usual. I thought he was hilarious, he has such perfect comical timing. And balding. And chain-smoking.
  • We’re hit immediately that this is a drug movie, we go straight into the drug-haze with them. Depp ‘sees’ bats in the sky but the audience [and no one else in the movie] see them except in the reflection in his sunglasses [even though they‘re not real!]. Depp’s reactions to the bats are quite funny; “NO! We can’t stop here! Its bat country!” and he has a fly swatter which is his main weapon.
  • Depp is constantly narrating and telling us his thoughts. I feel it helps somehow. Don’t know how but it does. Told you this would be a crap review. Damn PMT. Sorry. Too much info. Moving on!
  • Its got Spider Man in it before he was Spider Man! Tobey Maguire has long blond hair and looks totally weird.
  • Benicio Del Toro is awesome but looks to much like how Brad Pitt will look in about 5-10 years so I keep referring to him as OLD!Brad Pitt.
  • Very funny scene were OLD!Brad Pitt has a gun and Depp still has his fly swatter. Its funnier on screen than in writing.
  • We see Depp’s hallucinations which are really funny. Repitles in the bar, the carpet coming to life and hotel staff’s heads going funny and becoming weird snake things. Once again, funnier on screen than typing.
  • When we see them driving, it looks like their car is actually flying and you can tell they’re still totally tripping balls.
  • They inhale diethyl ether and its really funny, especially their walk. Depp’s narrating says it makes you behave like the town drunk yet you can see yourself actually doing everything. Very funny to watch and I have to keep reminding myself that what they’re doing is really bad.
  • “Look! There’s two women having sex with a polar bear!” Sorry, but they have some very funny lines in this movie that I can imagine some of my friends back in England saying whilst very drunk.
  • Here’s something slightly technical. There are different camera techniques used for different drugs. I thought this was a very clever idea, as to give the audience a slight feel and look as to what the drugs will do to your vision and also to tell the audience that we’re on a different drug now.
  • Another funny scene was that there was this rotating bar and OLD!Brad Pitt refused to get off till it stopped spinning. Very funny as, once again, I can see myself doing the same with Sarah [my friend] and trying to convince her to step off the rotating bar.
  • They take a while to find their hotel room which is another funny scene that I think a lot of people can relate to.
  • CAMERON DIAZ IS IN IT! For something like 5 minutes though. Still, its cool seeing these celebs who are now uber famous.

  • Depp: “I wouldn’t dare go to sleep with you wandering around with a head full of acid, wanting to slice me up with that goddamn knife.” OLD!Brad Pitt gasps and replies “Who said anything about slicing you up, man? I just wanted to carve a little Z on your forehead.” and then starts laughing hysterically. Another moment I found hilarious.
  • Another funny moment is when Depp sees Spider Man again and starts to totally panic trying to drive away because he thinks he told the police about him [Depp] and he stalls the car and its just funny because the last thing you want to do when you see someone you don’t want to is stall the car.
  • Be prepared to see some real-looking vomit. Unfortunately, I saw it moment before having my dinner. Not good.
  • Depp gets flashbacks because he’d been recording the whole night on his tape recorder. I think a lot of people wish they’d done that. I shamefully laughed when one of the flashbacks was of OLD!Brad Pitt crying hysterically out of the car to the car they’re driving next to and he throws up all over their window, still crying. It’s a horrible sight that should make you sad but it made me laugh.
  • “He’s too weird to live, too rare to die.” I thought that line was beautifully weird.
  • So yeah. Its an awesome movie, I should make that part clear. Its kind of… Pineapple Express meets The Hangover. But better.

    Sorry. I’ll try and review better tomorrow when my womb isn’t trying to kill me.

    44/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    Published in: on February 14, 2010 at 8:24 PM  Comments (1)  
    Tags: ,

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/02/14/fear-and-loathing-in-las-vegas/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    One CommentLeave a comment

    1. good review, especially considering youv’e been so pooooooooorly!


    Leave a Reply

