Big

11.13pm – its a bit late and I’m a little tired but I’m still buzzing from meeting Lauren Conrad and talking to her about jeans and her signing my book and OMG she’s awesome and so incredibly kind and lovely and she never stopped smiling! She was better than I expected! So, enough of my love letter to Lauren Conrad [>.<] I shall quickly post a few pictures I took onto Facebook then go downstairs to watch Big with one of my homemade brownies ^_^

2.27a – Big, to me, is the kind of movie you’d watch if it were on TV. It’s the classic feel good movie. I think the last time I watched it the whole way through, I was about… 16 or 17 or something. I think this is the 3rd time I’ve seen it and it’s a movie that if you watch it every couple of years or so, it remains great.

  • The first shot of the movie is of a computer game. And it is old school. It’s the actual meaning of old school. Makes me chuckle when I watch it and then glance at my Wii. The video/computer game is often associated with boys so we know immediately the age range and sex of our main character.
  • We have the ‘rap’: “The space goes down, down baby, down, down the roller coaster. Sweet, sweet baby, sweet, sweet, don’t let me go. Shimmy, shimmy, cocoa pop. Shimmy, shimmy, rock. Shimmy, shimmy, cocoa pop. Shimmy, shimmy, rock. I met a girlfriend – a triscuit. She said, a triscuit – a biscuit. Ice cream, soda pop, vanilla on the top. Ooh, Shelly’s out, walking down the street, ten times a week. I read it. I said it. I stole my momma’s credit. I’m cool. I’m hot. Sock me in the stomach three more times.” I imminently went onto YouTube and looked up Tom Hanks doing it on Friday Night with Jonathan Ross last year and he looks cooler doing it now than he did then which is beyond weird as he’s in his 50s now!
  • The movie’s main storyline is set up very quickly which is a nice relief as most films these days take aaaaaaaaaages to set the movie up. We can tell Josh and Billy are super best friends to the point where they have walkie-talkies and they talk to each other way past midnight. This reminded me of me and my best friend back in England, Sarah. She did phone me yesterday which was incredibly nice. Miss talking to her everyday. Anyways, we know they’re BFFs and we also know that his parents, and everyone around him, treats him like a little kid. Hence, “I wish I was big”.
  • A thing that I kind of liked was that Josh didn’t change into Tom Hanks straight away. We see him in the middle of the night, still YOUNG!Josh so its kind of taunting the audience, going “oooo he hasn’t changed, so this isn’t what changes him into Tom Hanks, what could it be?” or something. Then, in the morning, we see hairy legs over YOUNG!Josh’s bunk beds [why does he have bunk beds when his only sibling is still in her crib?!] and then the classic turning the mirror door and seeing a different face. Was ‘Big’ the first one to do this shot?
  • The mother totally doesn’t accept TOMHANKS!Josh and rightfully so. But BFF Billy does after screaming bloody Mary and TOMHANKS!Josh does the ‘rap’. Also rightfully so. I think my mum wouldn’t believe me but Sarah would know it was me straight away. Actually, I bet my mum would know it was me, she’d just know.
  • Tom Hanks does some [more] brilliant acting in this movie. He talks and does the mannerisms of a 13 year old without going down the annoying, I-Could-Kill-Him-With-My-Bare-Hands Pee Wee Herman path. He also looks fantastic for 32! I thought he was in his early 20s! No! He was 32! What’s his secret?! Though he looks his age [53] now…
  • I loved the scene where TOMHANKS!Josh is playing in the toy shop. Its so cute yet I know if it were an actual 13 year old boy, I’d probably be pissed off with him! I, like everyone else, can’t help but smile at the piano part. Its even better when his manager steps in and plays too! When I think of another character who is the manager or someone high in the staff lader who is in the toy/child business, I think of the dad from Elf. He’s a grumpy guy who’s just doing it for the money and has no interest in children or their books. TOMHANKS!Josh’s boss, however, is the head of the toy company and you can tell he still loves toys, finds them fascinating and doesn’t mind showing his inner child. That’s what a manager should be like!
  • “What’s so special about Baskin?” “He’s an adult.” Oh the irony. I’m trying and trying to word how brilliant this line is. I guess you have two types of “acting like a child”; when you act like a child whilst having the innocence of a child and acting like a child in a immature, throw-your-toys-out-of-your-pram way. I suppose the women in this movie confuse TOMHANKS!Josh’s innocence with being an ‘adult’… I’m probably not making sense or I’ve got it completely wrong but whatever. Its 2.24am. Blegh.
  • I know I shouldn’t but as the movie progresses and TOMHANKS!Josh’s relationship with the woman moves forward, I can’t help but think “HE’S 13! HE’S 13! YOU PEDOPHILE!”
  • So yeah… good movie… unless you have a 13 year old son… then it might gross you out… or I’m just immature ^_^

    39/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    Published in: on February 9, 2010 at 11:13 PM  Comments (1)  
    Tags:

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/big/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    One CommentLeave a comment

    1. Totally love this movie and love Tom Hanks too. You’re right, it’s an extremely memorable movie with a classic kind of feel. He was such a looker in his younger days..


    Leave a Reply

