Monty Python’s Life of Brian

I feel really bad! I’m a huge lover of comedy and I’m so proud to be British and I’ve heard so many people say that the Monty Python group are their inspiration or heroes. I thought it was funny but not as funny as so many people make it out to be. I feel ashamed that I didn’t find it ball-bouncingly funny. Its weird that I find Blackadder hilarious but not Monty Python. Anyways, here is my [shamefully] short list of notes;

  • I chuckled at the beginning when it says when the scene is being set, saying ‘Saturday afternoon… around tea time’. So British
  • There is a spaceship. The ultimate “WTF” moment in any movie, even beating Indiana Jones’s latest film where there are aliens at the end. Seriously.
  • I loved that it feels like a really long, epic skit. You have the same group of men playing different roles and it works brilliantly.
  • I’m not a religious person so any movie that takes the piss out of religion is funny to me. Thinking with a modern mind, it makes me think that this is actually what happened and the people just over-exaggerated everything. My mum told me at the end of the film that when the Monty Python group were attacked for blasphemy and being nasty to Jesus, they say that the story is about Brian, not Jesus. So damn clever!
  • “He’s not the Messiah, he’s a very naughty boy!” At least now I know where this famous line comes from! Unfortunately, I didn’t find it as funny as everyone else in the comedy world does. Once again, I am ashamed of myself.
  • One part made me very happy was the little bit of Panto banter between Brian’s mum and the crowd. I didn’t see Panto last year [bloody American don’t do it] so it cheered me up to see it on TV.
  • I did not know that “Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life” was written by the Monty Python group!! How awesome! Thing is, I’ll have it stuck in my head for days now!
  • I look at this review and I’m even more ashamed of myself for not loving it as much as I should of. I’m sorry! I really am! I don’t think it has anything to do with age as I know plenty of people my own age who love Life of Brian. Shameful, shameful. Sorry!!!!

    32/212

    Kate
    xoxo

    Published in: on February 1, 2010 at 10:41 PM  Comments (1)  
    Tags: , , , , ,

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/02/01/monty-pythons-life-of-brian/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    One CommentLeave a comment

    1. I think Monty Python is a bit like Elvis, to truely appriciate it you would have to have seen it from the start. I remember John Peel talking about hearing Elvis for the first time on the radio & how no subsequent generation would ever feel as big a thrill as he got from it because nothing like that had existed before.
      When Python started it wasn’t hyped like stuff is today, it was hidden away & moved about in the schedule you had to look for it. It was ours, it was a secret & most importantly your parents didn’t get it.
      My favourite bit is when he tells the crowd that they must all be individuals & they reply, as one, that they are except for one lone voice that says
      “I’m not” I always felt that that was me !


    Leave a Reply

