Forrest Gump

It’s a mixture of different stories about one man, his journey and the people around him. We have laughter, drama, history, love, loyalty and sadness; all the things life is made of.

Forrest Gump is one of those movies that you either love or hate and those who hate are normally Americans. Some people hate it because of the history in it. Now, I’m not entirely sure why they don’t like it but I think its because of the way the history is portrayed or something. I am the ignorant teenager and unfortunately don’t know that much about American history so I loved this movie. I loved how they managed to squeeze him into historical events and literally putting him in clips of history. Even though we currently live in an age with breath-taking special effects and therefore the effects in this movie look a little lame, I still grin in awe of how clever they were in pasting Tom Hanks [who is one of my favourite actors] into the archive footage and digitally modifying the historical figures, such as the many Presents of the United States he ‘met’. Oooo, I must say that because of ‘All The Presidents Men’ which I watched previously, I knew about the Watergate Scandal and therefore got the reference and found myself laughing! Who’d of thought that I’d be laughing at a political joke! Anyway, I loved how it turned out to be Forrest who taught Elvis his now iconic moves, suppose its because it makes me think of my awesome driving instructor who was obsessed with Elvis to the point of trying to look like him [you try having a driving lesson with Elvis teaching you, its weird yet cool!]. It was also very smart of them to include the not-so-bright side of the history with poor Jenny who suffered greatly through time, mainly with drugs. You always need two sides of the story for balance; there is never one side to a story.

One theme that really struck a cord with me was loyalty. The loyalty Forrest has for Jenny, his friends and his mother. Especially his mother. I can relate to Forrest this way because I know that if I was on a boat and heard my mum was sick, I’d jump straight off it to get to her too. Anyone who is close to their mum can relate to Forrest. Actually, anyone who’s loyal to people in general can relate. I think that loyalty is what makes Forrest so adorable, not that he’s ‘simple’. His loyalty to Jenny [dammit, I keep typing ‘Kenny’ and that’s because the ‘k’ and ‘j’ are close to each other on the keyboard, not that I’ve been watching South Park every day…*shifty eyes*] is beautiful. This film has actually made me realize that love is loyalty and loyalty is love. Well, that’s what I think anyway. Suppose I’ll be proven wrong one day but I’ll stick to it for now.

Onto the happy stuff! This film has brought us so many memorable lines! ‘RUN, FORREST, RUN!’ ‘My momma always said, “Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”’ to name but a few. There is one line that made me laugh and I had to literally cover my mouth with my hand so I didn’t wake up my brother next door [apparently, whilst watching these movies, I’ve been making noise and waking him up, oops!] which was about the bullet wound he got in his ‘buttocks’; “Oh, yes sir. Bit me right in the buttocks. They said it was a million dollar wound, but the army must keep that money ’cause I still haven’t seen a nickel of that million dollars.” I still laughed even though I didn’t know, like Forrest, what a million dollar wound was [though I knew it didn’t involve money, unlike Forrest]. Now I know its making reference to getting a wound that is serious enough to get you sent home from war but not fatal enough to do any actual damage. Wonder if there is a list of these wounds and they thought the bum one was the funniest!

Other cool things; little Jenny is incredibly cute, Tom Hanks should of hand longer hair, it shows some hilarious theories in how the slogan ‘shit happens’ and the smiley face t-shirt came about, and it has the kid from A.I. who sees dead people but he’s something like 3 in this and beyond adorable! Wonder what he’s doing now… is he even still alive? I’ll Google it… wow, he’s actually done bugger all since A.I. and is an alcoholic. Not surprising actually.

And on that positive note…

24/212

Kate
xoxo

PS: I have a weird sense of humor, my apologies if you don’t get it, its hard to get it across via internet ^_^

Published in: on January 24, 2010 at 8:27 PM  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://212films7months.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/forrest-gump/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Brilliant review! Love this film. And remember I’m always here for you, x


Leave a Reply

